in

SYDNEY STRIKES BACK

credit: Rod Sydney

Sadly, it’s been almost 20 years since my last time whoring in Sydney.  So Leatherman extraordinaire Matt Bluf keeps me up to date on what’s on.  In a previous article, I called Melbourne Australia’s kinkiest city.  On my website, Leathermen Travel, I call Melbourne Australia’s undisputed #1 city for Leather.  Matt and the men of Sydney say, “Not so fast!”  They are determined to take on Melbourne.  Their shot across the bow is The Eagle Sydney.

Eagle Bar
credit: Rod Sydney

Not a permanent leather bar like the dearly departed Barracks, the Eagle is a “pop-up” fetish bar.  Each Eagle event celebrates a different fetish.  Another popular spot is Kinselas, a bar in a former Art Deco funeral home.  It’s especially a favorite of men who like manly men on Fridays, when the Harbour City Bears take over.  One of Sydney’s liveliest gay bars is The Oxford Hotel.  (If you read my Melbourne article, you might remember that many Australian bars are called hotels for historic reasons.)

Oxford Hotel

Kinselas, the Oxford Hotel, and another swinging joint called the Burdekin Hotel are located along Oxford Street, Sydney’s Gay Mile.  You barely have to leave the area to have a gay old time.  You can shop your gay heart out along Oxford Street, right from the City all the way to Paddington Markets.  Pick up leather and other fetish gear at Sax Fetish.  Go down the street to The Toolshed for dildos, butt plugs, and other implements of perversion.  Get a sexy new swimsuit right next door at Bang.  The Darlinghurst area gives you a couple of options when you’re ready to strip down and hunt for cock or hole.  You can choose between Sydney Sauna and TRADE.  They’re both popular and very convenient.

Gay sauna in Darlinghurst

When you’ve worked up an appetite from all that sleazy sauna action, Darlinghurst is there for you.  Go for Southeast Asian cuisine at Thai Nesia, hearty Central European fare at Una’s, or modern pub grub at Lord Roberts Hotel.  Exhausted from all that drinking, shopping, fucking, and eating?  Crawl back to your room at one of three gay-friendly hotels in Darlinghurst.  The Kirketon Hotel is a boutique hotel close to the action.  For big spenders, there’s Pullman Sydney Hyde Park Hotel, close to central Sydney.  For something at a price level in between, check into the Manor House Boutique Hotel in the southern tip of Darlinghurst.

Okay, it’s the next day and you’re ready to get the fuck out of Darlinghurst.  Just head a little further east on Oxford Street to nearby Paddington.  Here’s where you’ll find Dick Savvy, the notorious Naked Barber.  Climb into Dick’s sling and get ready for the hottest grooming session of your life.  After getting your asshole waxed, you can wax philosophical at, a thoughtful spot right on Oxford Street.  West of Darlinghurst, you can fuck like a bunny on four levels at 357, a gay-owned bathhouse

Bondi Beach

There’s no shortage of fun to be had in the city.  But you’ve heard something about Sydney’s beaches, right?  Start off at world-famous Bondi Beach.  Hop the 333 bus all the way out to Bondi.  Once you hit the sand, head north to find where the boys are.  For a change of scenery, head south along a dramatic clifftop walk to Tamarama Beach, aka Glamarama.  If you want a real cruisy beach, take the ferry from the Circular Quay to Watsons Bay and walk to Lady Day Beach, aka Lady Jane Beach.  Head to the rocks to get your rocks off.  (And taking the ferry is the most fun way to get around Sydney anyway.)

Mardi Gras

You’ve probably heard of Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras.  The festivities start each February, culminating in the parade and party in March.  It’s one of Australia’s biggest annual events and one of the world’s largest gay events.  And in 2023 it will be the biggest party in the world when it’s held in conjunction with Sydney WorldPride 2023.  Fetish Australia is a group that creates the Mardi Gras float for the whole fetish community.  What better way to enjoy Mardi Gras than riding along with the sexiest geared-up group of all?  The Eagle hosts fetish events throughout Mardi Gras week and will have an even bigger program during WorldPride.  There’s the tantalizingly named Extra Dirty, a fetish dance party held during Mardi Gras, as well as other times throughout the year.  If you can’t make Mardi Gras, Sydney Fetish Week, a celebration of Sydney’s diverse kink communities, happens in autumn (which is Australia’s spring).  And then there’s always The HIDE, a Sydney group that holds monthly events for Leathermen and other fetish folk.

credit: Rod Sydney

Did I say something about Melbourne being Australia’s kinkiest city?  I may need to rethink that.

For more information or where to find fetish fun in Australia and around the world, check out my website Leathermen Travel at www.leathermentravel.com.


Links:

The Eagle Sydney  eaglesydney.com.au/

Kinselas  kinselas.com.au

Harbour City Bears  hcbears.com.au

The Oxford Hotel  theoxfordhotel.com.au

Burdekin Hotel  burdekin.com.au

Paddington Markets  paddingtonmarkets.com.au

Sax Fetish  saxfetish.com

The Toolshed  toolshed.com.au

Bang  instagram.com/bangclothingsydney/

Sydney Sauna  sydneysauna.com

TRADE  facebook.com/TradeClubSyd/

Thai Nesia  thainesia.com.au

Una’s  unas.com.au

Lord Roberts Hotel  lordrobertshotel.com.au

The Kirketon Hotel  kirketon.com.au

Pullman Sydney Hyde Park Hotel  all.accor.com/hotel/8763/index.en.shtml

Manor House Boutique Hotel  manorboutiquehotel.com.au/

The Naked Barber  thenakedbarber.com

Ampersand Cafe and Bookstore  ampersandcafe.com.au/

357  357.com.au

Bondi Beach  int.sydney.com/things-to-do/beach-lifestyle/bondi-beach

Tamarama Beach  sydney.com/destinations/sydney/sydney-east/bondi/attractions/tamarama-beach

Lady Bay Beach  nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/things-to-do/swimming-spots/lady-bay-beach

Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras  mardigras.com.au

Sydney WorldPride 2023  sydneyworldpride.com

Fetish Australia  facebook.com/groups/1600540383571071/

Extra Dirty  extradirty.com.au

Sydney Fetish Week  facebook.com/SydneyFetishWeek/

The HIDE  facebook.com/groups/the.HIDE/

Newbie

Written by Will Stone

What do you think?

The Alphatribe Neoprene adventure

STREET SEX PHOTOS – A NEW GAY FETISH PICTORIAL BOOK